Absolutely Anything (Terry Jones, 2015)

 

What would you do if you could do anything, absolutely anything? Would you live in your dream house? Cure cancer? Marry Tom Hardey? (I would defiantly do all three of those things). Well in the 2015 film Absolutely Anything Neil Clarke (Simon Pegg) is given this ability by some crazy aliens voiced by the Monty Python cast.  The whole situation is slightly concerning.

absolutely-anything-600x450

Yes Neil must attempt to prove that he can use his powers for good, in order to stop aliens destroying the planet. But when he has to deal with a noisy dog, a novel deadline, an awful job, an evil boss and an incredibly sexy next door neighbour with a crazy American ex- boyfriend, nothing is as easy as it sounds.

(What would you really really want? zigazig ha.)

The overall premise of the film sounds incredible. You could literally do absolutely anything with the plot. I wanted a little more creativity with this film. Some of the outcomes to his little commands are great but would you sit around reading novels in German or be in a yacht drinking cocktails with your favourite celebrities? Trust me, if I had those power, I would not still be attending work and talking (Literally) to my dog. I would very much be in the middle of the ocean drinking a WOO WOO with Chris Pratt and Helena Bonham Carter.  But don’t get me wrong he does do some of the things we would all try. “I want a sexy body”

yacht

Even though there are just so many variables that could affect the plot. It just all seems fairly weak. I find that the most important element of a plot is to come to the resolution after a final climax. However, the main issue seems to be resolved within a matter of 5 seconds. But the late Robin Williams character is the main cause for this so we can forgive him.

With a 2015 film I would also expect some fantastic special effects. I mean have you seen ‘Mad Max’ (George Miller, 2015) or ‘Star Wars the Force Awakens’ (J.J. Abrams, 2015) the effects are incredible. However, with this we get some questionable character designs. I’m not sure whether to blame this on the idea that this film is a comedy, the budget or the effects team.  The one thing that seems to improve the aliens is the great voice acting from the Monty Python cast. I find that it is just the cast that brings the film together. I love Simon Pegg so anything he is in I will watch.

absolutely-anything aliens

I will mention that the film includes Rob Riggle (such a great name). I find that he does have a type cast of playing the douche bag in EVERYTHING. If you don’t know who he is , you obviously aren’t watching enough American comedies.

Premiere Of Columbia Pictures' "21 Jump Street" - Red Carpet

LOS ANGELES, CA – MARCH 13: Actor Rob Riggle arrives at the premiere of Columbia Pictures’ “21 Jump Street” at the Grauman’s Chinese Theater on March 13. 2012 in Los Angeles, California. (Photo by Kevin Winter/Getty Images)

I find that I may be being a little harsh because it is funny. There are a few inappropriate jokes and F bombs so it defiantly isn’t for children. If you here Robin Williams shouting “shag her Neil, shag the bitch” you can tell that it wasn’t aimed at younger viewers.

I’m not sure whether or not to suggest it. On one hand the concept is great and a fantastic cast. But on the other, I find you may be disappointed.

How have you not seen this? – Deathbyapril- April Ely.

Follow me on twitter @apriely31 and Instagram deathbyapril for ore updates.

Leave a Reply

