The Fault In Our Stars (2014, Josh Boone)

tfios

The first time I cried in 2015, was not because I went through a break up or I stubbed my toe on the corner of the table. It was because I watched the Fault in Our Stars for the 4th time (in my life, not just in 2015). I have done this, due to the fact that I have never seen a film that is as soppy and romantic as this one, even though about 80% of the characters have some form of Cancer.

However, even though Cancer is a theme within both the film and the book (John Green) , it is more of a sub theme , whereas love and romance is clearly the main priority, as this feature is more about life than death, even though the inevitable death of the characters are reminded to the audience throughout. Therefore, it is this foreshadowing that causes the film to be so more special because our star crossed lovers ; Hazel Grace ( Shailene Woodley) and Gus Water ( Ansel Elgort ) only have a finite of time to live through an entire love story, that will die with them. This is also the main reason that this film is so emotional because the audience can understand their immortal love for each other , in a world where they only get to live for a short period of time, much like a modern time Romeo and Juliet (but without all the shooting).

Another reason I loved this move so much is because of the incredible talent of both Shailene and Ansel, they are just mesmerising and have the ability to cause such a huge amount of empathy from the audience. These two are really Oscar winners in the making.

In addition, if you are a fan of the book then the film does very well to stick to the story lines and the incredible cast does extremely well at portraying such incredible characters. However, if you have not read such a fantastic novel either, then this is highly recommend as John Green is the only author to make me cry at a book and has the ability to create both characters and narrative that the reader will be instantly glued to throughout and will cause you to have a serious case of” I can’t put the book down, just one more page!”. This book is also responsible for some of the most beautiful quotations in literacy, quotes that have the ability to inspire and tell the truth about the everyday world and luckily for us are repeated within the movie.

“My thoughts are stars I cannot fathom into constellations.” – John Green , The Fault In our Stars.

This is one movie I would really suggest watching but be warned you will cry and if not WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH YOU?! I know that I have only written a short review but to go into detail towards how fantastically made this production is, it would risk spoilers.

So if you have not seen this movie, I ask you; how have you not seen this yet?

Leave a Reply

